The four levels of the fast of ‘Aashooraa

Visit our YouTube channel for more

Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymeen said:

The fast of ‘Aashooraa has four levels.

The first level is to fast the 9th, the 10th and the 11th [days of Muharram].

And this is the highest level, based upon what [Imaam] Ahmad transmitted in al-Musnad:

«Fast the day before it, and the day after it; [and in doing so] differ [yourselves] from the Jews.»

And [in addition], if a person was to fast these three days, then he has attained the virtue of fasting the [recommended] three days of every month.

The second level, [is to fast] the 9th and the 10th [days of Muharram], based on the statement of the Prophet ﷺ:

«If I live until next year, I will certainly fast the ninth [day of Muharram].»

[And he said this] after it was said to him that the Jews used to fast the 10th day [of Muharram]; and he used to like to differ from the Jews, rather to differ from every disbeliever.

And the third [level], [is to fast] the 10th along with the 11th [days of Muharram].

And the fourth [level], [is to fast] the 10th [day of Muharram] by itself.

And from amongst the scholars are those who say [it] is permissible [to do so], and from amongst them are those who say [it] is disliked [to do so].

Translation originally published on 26 July, 2023

He is a graduate of the Islaamic University of Madeenah, having graduated from the Institute of Arabic Language, and later the Faculty of Sharee'ah in 2004. He currently resides in Birmingham, UK.

Related posts